• Jaycees honor TOYM awardees


    Ten notable individuals were honored Monday evening as the Philippine Jaycees bared this year’s The Outstanding Young Men Awards (TOYM).

    For its 56th year, TOYM President Bienvenido Tandoc said that for the first time, they used social media in accepting nominations to reach more people.

    The 10 awardees were culled from 106 nominees. They were chosen by a Board of Judges headed by Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro of the Supreme Court for their leadership and public service in their own fields of expertise, making them “true models of exceptional young Filipinos.”

    The 10 honorees were Raymond Abrea for Accounting and Finance, Jose Ramon Aliling for Civil Engineering, Michael Barney Almazar for Law / Legal Aid, Geoffrey Bryan Chua for Education, Patricia Evangelista for Journalism, Sofronio Fortich Jr. for Arts in Music, Donald Patrick Lim for Community Development, Nico Jose Nolledo for Business, Roderick Salenga for Public Health, and Rogelio Santos Jr. for Social Entrepreneurship.
    Almazar, Chua, and Fortich are based overseas.

    “This is the only award that does not only recognize talent, but also their character and service to mankind… [The honorees] represent both the diversity of talent and diversity of need in the country,” Tandoc said.

    Other members of the Board of Judges are Justice Secretary Leila De Lima, music icon Ryan Cayabyab, businessman Lance Gokongwei, former Health Secretary Enrique Ona, and chess grandmaster Eugene Torre.

    The TOYM Awards was established by the Manila Jaycees in 1959, and is co-sponsored by the Gerry Roxas Foundation.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.