Kaya FC wins 2015 UFL Cup


After a six-year drought, first division club Kaya FC finally emerged as champions following their 4-2 victory on penalties against Ceres La Salle FC in the finals of the United Football League (UFL) Cup 2015 at the Rizal Memorial Stadium on Thursday night.

The thrill started with Kaya leading as Kittitian striker Tishan Hanley notched the opening goal of the contest in the first minute of added time of the first half.

Diego Barrera doubled the Kaya FC advantage a few minutes into the second half after connecting with a well-placed cross from Jovin Bedic in the 56th minute.

However, the reigning league champs refused to go without a fight as Lee Jeong Woo narrowed the gap to just a single goal in the 63rd minute.

Ceres La Salle fans cheered after Juani Guirado’s header found the back of the net to level the score to a 2-2 deadlock at the 73rd minute mark.

Despite exchange of raids, both squads failed to score the winning goal until the regulation time expired. Two 15-minute halves were added to decide the winner of the anticipated finals.

In the extra periods, Kaya relied on goalkeeper Nic O’donnell to stop Ceres on a rare UFL double with two crucial saves.

With the win, Kaya now secures a spot in the qualification round of the Asian Football Confederation Cup next year.

Kaya players also bagged special awards in the Cup with Masanari Omura bringing home the Golden Ball plum while Hanley got the Golden Boot trophy.

Ceres La Salle first choice shot stopper Louie Michael Casas was named the Golden Glove of the season while Stallion FC took the Fairplay honor.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.