Sebastien Loeb. AFP PHOTO

NINE-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb had obliterated the race record at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb—the 91st running of the event.

In his first appearance in the “Race to the Clouds,” Loeb tore across the 19.87-kilometer course in 8:13.878, more than a minute-and-a-half faster than the previous race record of 9:46.181 set by Rhys Millen last year.

Driving a Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak in the Unlimited class, Loeb averaged 139kph while setting the record. Millen was a distant second with a time of 9:02.192 in his 2013 Hyundai PM580T, and Jean-Philippe Dayraut also topped the previous record with a time of 9:42.740 aboard a 2011 Mini Countryman.

“I felt really good in the car, and I pushed it hard from the start to the finish,” Loeb said. “I made no mistakes, and I felt the race was really good.”

Paul Dallenbach finished in 9:46.001 in his 2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe to also eclipse last year’s record and win the Time Attack class.

As expected, with the entire course now being a paved track, numerous records fell at the historic race.

Carlin Dunne, who owns the race’s overall record for motorcycles at 9:52.819, was again the fastest, clocking a time of 10:00.694 on his 2013 Lightning Electric SuperBike in the Exhibition Powersports class.

Michael Coburn’s 11:05.874 time on his 2013 Walsh 450R was a Quad Modified class record, and Codie Vasholtz set a Pikes Peak 250 record with a time of 11:24.792 on his 1996 Kawasaki KX 250.

Pikes Peak legend Nobuhiro “Monster” Tajima, driving an E-Runner in the Electric category, was a surprise in the class that he won with a time of 9:46.530.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.