La Salle bags PFFWL crown via sweep


De La Salle University emerged as the first champion in the Philippine Football Federation Women’s Football League (PFFWL) after sweeping all its matches the inaugural season.

Posting 13 wins in as many games, the Lady Booters topped the ten-team tournament with 39 points and a massive goal difference of 52.

The Hans Smit-mentored squad capped its 13-game sweep with a 16-0 demolition of The Younghusband Football Academy (TYFA) over the weekend at the PFF National Football Training Center in Carmona, Cavite.

Besides the championship, the defending University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) champions also dominated in the individual awards.

Sara Castañeda bagged the Golden Ball (Most Valuable Player) award, goalkeeper Inna Palacios seized the Golden Glove honors and striker Kyra Dimaandal copped the Golden Boot plum after notching 21 goals, including four goals in La Salle’s last game.

University of Santo Tomas finished second, as the Lady Golden Booters amassed 27 points on a 9-0-4 win-draw loss record.

The España-based female booters also had their individual awardees in Charisa Lemoran and Ivy Lopez, who snared the Best Midfielder and Best Defender recognitions respectively.

Far Eastern University finished third with 26 points on an 8-2-3 slate. The Lady Tamaraw Booters closed their triumphant campaign with a lopsided 3-0 victory over University of the Philippines (UP) two days ago.

Behind the top three were Green Archers United FC (19 points), Hiraya FC (19), Ateneo De Manila University (18), TYFA (15), OutKast FC (14), UP (13) and winless Fuego Espanya FC.

Fuego Espanya received the Fair Play award.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.