• La Salle dethrones UST as overall UAAP champ


    De La Salle University has formally claimed the general championship of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 78, dethroning many-time champion University of Santo Tomas.

    With two more events left – the men and women’s football – the Green Archers have already secured the top honors this season with a possible output of 282 points, just two points ahead of perennial title contenders Growling Tigers who will wrap up the season with 280 points.

    La Salle is fresh from winning the women’s volleyball crown – one of the sixth titles the university won this year. They also ruled the women’s beach volley, women’s chess, men and women’s table tennis, and men’s baseball.

    Besides their championship trophies, La Salle has runner-up finishes in the men’s swimming and men’s badminton, and third-place awards in wo- men’s basketball, women’s swimming, men’s chess, women’s tennis, women’s badminton, women’s fencing, men and women’s tae kwon do and men’s judo.

    UST, on the other hand, bagged the women’s athletics, men’s tae kwon do, poomsae and women’s judo crowns then placed second in men’s beach volleyball, men’s chess, men’s table tennis, women’s tennis, men’s athletics, men and women’s fencing, women’s tae kwon do, men’s judo and women’s softball.

    Ateneo de Manila University and National University won five titles each while University of the East got three, Far Eastern University earned two, and Adamson University and University of the Philippines pocketed one apiece.

    The Blue Eagles dominated the men’s volleyball, men’s beach volleyball, men and women’s swimming and men’s judo while the Bulldogs topped the women’s basketball, men’s chess, men and women’s tennis, and men’s badminton; the Red Warriors ruled the men and women’s fencing, and women’s tae kwon do; the Tamaraws got golds in men’s basketball and men’s athletics; the Soaring Falcons retained the women’s softball title; and the Fighting Maroons regained the women’s badminton crown.

    It will be La Salle’s third general championship after winning the first two in Seasons 75 and 76.

    The UAAP awards 15 points to the first placer, 12 to second, 10 to third, eight to fourth, six to fifth, four to sixth, two to seventh and one to eighth.

    The football finals between UP and Ateneo (men’s division) and UP and La Salle (women’s class) will be played on Thursday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

    Regardless of the football results, La Salle will still claim the top spot in the overall ranking.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.