La Salle enters UAAP women’s volley finals


De La Salle University reached the finals after defeating National University (NU), 26-24, 21-25, 25-18, 25-21, in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 77 women’s volleyball at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City on Saturday.

Ara Galang scored 25 points to lead La Salle, while Mary Joy Baron and Cydthealee Demecillo added 15 points each.

La Salle will battle unbeaten Ateneo De Manila University in the finals.

In Game 2 of the men’s championship, Ateneo De Manila University overcame a sluggish first set to bag the crown with a 23-25, 25-23, 25-23, 25-15, win over NU behind the spectacular performance of Marck Jesus Espejo and Wilson Marasigan.

Espejo, who won his second Most Valuable Player award, notched 28 kills and three service points to lead his team with 33 points while Marasigan finished with 14 points for the Blue Eagles that won its first men’s volleyball title in the UAAP.

“We really felt in the fourth set that we’re going to win it after we’re hitting them with our service points,” said Ateneo head coach Oliver Almadro. “We worked hard for this. Finally, we won the championship.”

The last time Ateneo won a men’s volleyball crown was in 1976, when the Blue Eagles were still in the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Peter Torres led the former champion NU with 12 points.

Ateneo won Game 1 of the best-of-three finals series 25-19, 30-28, 20-25, 25-22.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.