La Salle outclasses Southwestern to clinch collegiate champions league title



De La Salle University proved that it is the best college basketball team in the country after topping the 2013 Philippine Collegiate Champions League on Tuesday at The Arena in San Juan City.

La Salle, the reigning UAAP champion, swept Southwestern University, the current Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. champion, in their best-of-three title showdown.

The Green Archers won Game 1, 64-54, and Game 2, 70-61, to claim their second title this year.

It was La Salle’s second PCCL crown after ruling the 2008 edition.

In Game 1, Jeron Teng scored 18 points, six rebounds and 5 assists while Thomas Torres added 15 markers and Norbert Torres delivered 10 points and 12 boards for the Green Archers.

Teng shone again in Game 2 by scoring 16 points, four rebounds and five assists. Providing solid backup were Almond Vosotros (15 points) and rookie Jason Perkins (14 points and 10 rebounds).

The 6-foot-2 Teng was later named the Finals Most Valuable Player, and La Salle mentor Juno Sauler was named Best Coach.

Teng, Perkins and Vosotros led the Mythical Selection. SWU’s Landry Sanjo and Mark Tallo are the two other awardees.

SWU made it to the Final Four after beating University of San Carlos (82-73) and University of the Visayas (68-60) in the Sweet 16 stage.

La Salle was seeded in the Final Four along with National Collegiate Athletic Association titlist San Beda College.

In the round-robin Final Four, La Salle and SWU got 2-1 win-loss card each to arrange a titular matchup while San Beda and Far Eastern University were eliminated with identical 1-2.




Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.