La Salle remains unbeaten in FilOil Cup


De La Salle University (DLSU) sustained its winning run in the 2016 FilOil Flying V Pre-season Premier Cup with a commanding 87-78 win over the Lyceum of the Philippines University (LPU) at the San Juan Arena on Thursday.

La Salle, with a pristine record of six wins, relied on the prowess of veteran forward Jeron Teng in their match with the Pirates.

Teng tallied a total of 20 points on a 64 percent shooting performance in the field plus three assists and two steals.

The Green Archers immediately went on erecting a sizeable 56-29 lead going into the midgame intermission.

But Lyceum refused to go down without a fight recapturing their rhythm going into the final period. However, the men from Taft foiled their attacks in the final stretch of the game to maintain La Salle’s unbeaten record in the pre-season tourney.

Ben Mbala finished with 15 points and 11 rebounds for La Salle while Kib Montalbo posted six points, eight rebounds and six assists.

Meanwhile, reigning champion San Beda College (SBC) and National University (NU) also posted wins on Thursday.

The Red Lions leaned on the services of big man Donald Tankoua, who had a double-double performance of 21 points and 15 rebounds, in their 86-81 victory over Adamson University.

Despite a 10-point deficit after the opening quarter, San Beda came back in the second period with 31 points to post a 48-42 edge at halftime against Adamson.

The Mendiola-based platoon sustained their onslaught in the remaining two periods to secure their fifth win in Group B of the elimination round.

AC Soberano and Robert Bolick notched a total output of 10 and nine points, respectively for SBC.

Forward Robbie Manalang and center Cherif Pari Sarr led Adamson with 19 and 16 points while Harold Ng added 15 markers.

In the first game, Ced Labing-isa and JV Gallego powered the NU Bulldogs’ 75-64 triumph over the University of the Philippines (UP) Fighting Maroons.

Paul Desiderio led UP with 28 points.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.