La Salle tames Lady Tams to enter finals


De La Salle University repulsed Far Eastern University, 25-15, 27-25, 25-21, to advance to the finals of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 78 women’s volleyball tournament on Wednesday at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Veteran Kim Fajardo had 50 excellent sets on top of four aces and two attacks to lead the Lady Spikers to their eighth-straight finals appearance.

La Salle be battling defending champion Ateneo de Manila University in the best-of-three championship series.

The Lady Eagles secured a the first finals slot by thumping University of the Philippines, 25-16, 25-15, 25-21, in the other Final Four match.

It will be the fifth consecutive La Salle-Ateneo finals.

The two teams are tied in their head-to-head matchup in the finals with the Lady Spiker winnings in Seasons 74 and 75 before the Lady Eagles taking the crowns of Seasons 76 and 77.

The Game 1 of the La Salle-Ateneo finals will be on Saturday at the Araneta Coliseum.

In the men’s division, National University (NU) ousted an undermanned Adamson University, 19-25, 25-20, 25-20, 25-23, to claim the last finals slot.

Five members of the Bulldogs finished in double figures led by James Martin Natividad , who scored 15 points including four aces, and Bryan Bagunas, who delivered 14 markers.

Ruben Baysac added 13, Madzlan Gampong chipped in 12 and Kim Malabunga banged in 11 while playmaker Vincent Mangulabnan had 61 excellent sets for NU.

Adamson got major blow when starting setter Nico Ramirez suffered a shoulder injury in the crucial fourth set. Dave Pletado and Paolo Pablico topscored for Adamson with 14 points each.

NU arranged a best-of-three championship showdown with reigning titlist Ateneo.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.