La Salle, UP top UAAP table tennis


DE La Salle University ended a 13-year title drought in table tennis after sweeping Far Eastern University (FEU) in the best-of-three championship series of University Athletic Association of the Philippines table tennis competitions held at the Ateneo Blue Eagles gym in Katipunan, Quezon City.

La Salle, which led by Most Valuable Player (MVP) winner Walden Ledesma, defeated FEU in Game 2, 3-1, to snare the men’s division crown. They last won in 2000.

The Green Archers also won Game 1 in with a same 3-1 score.

John Russel Misal of University of Santo Tomas was the Rookie of the Year winner.

University of the Philippines (UP), on the other hand, survived La Salle to regain the UAAP women’s table tennis crown. The Lady Archers were thrice-to-beat in the finals after sweeping the elimination round.

It was a historic feat for the UP women’s team, as it became the first squad in any sport to win against a “thrice-to-beat” team.

Lady Maroon Joma Sibal was named MVP while teammate Nishino Noriko was the Rookie of the Year.

UP won in Game 1 (3-1), Game 2 (3-1) and Game 3 (3-1).

In the juniors division, University of the East beat National University, 3-0, to regain the crown.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.