Lady Eagles, Chiefs dispute Group A lead


Ateneo and Arellano slug it out it out today (Sunday) in a key match-up between Group A leaders even as National U and University of Santo Tomas collide in Group B action in an explosive twinbill marking Week 2 of the Shakey’s V-League Season 11 First Conference at The Arena in San Juan yesterday.

The Lady Eagles needed four sets to topple the Adamson Lady Falcons in last week’s inaugurals of the country’s premier women’s volley league sponsored by Shakey’s but the reigning UAAP champions expect a tougher outing against the Lady Chiefs, who launched their bid with an impressive three-set romp over the Southwestern U tossers on Thursday.

Gametime is at 4 p.m. with the winner seizing the early lead in Group A of the league where it all started and the inside track in the quarterfinals, this being a single round robin elims among two groups, thus making each game crucial.

Led by Cristine Joy Rosario and Danna Henson, the Lady Chiefs trounced the Lady Cobras, 25-15, 25-17, 25-19, to prime themselves up against the fancied Lady Eagles, led by the UAAP Season and Finals MVP Alyssa Valdez.

But Arellano will not only be focusing its defense on Valdez but also on the much-improved Amy Ahomiro along with Michelle Morente, Aerieal Patnongon, Melissa
Morado, Ella de Jesus and guest players Rissa Sato and Bea de Leon.

The 2 p.m. clash between NU and UST also promises to be a slambang duel with the Lady Bulldogs also eyeing a second straight win and the solo lead in Group B of the tournament backed by Mikasa, Accel and Akari. But the Tigresses are also ready to go and kick off their campaign on a winning note.

The Lady Bulldogs hardly flexed their muscle in disposing of the reigning NCAA champion Perpetual Help side, scoring a one-sided 25-20, 25-14, 25-15 romp with Dindin Santiago and Myla Pablo combining for 22 hits and Jaja Santiago, Aiko Urdas, Carmin Aganon and Ivy Perez pooling 29 points among themselves.

The six are again expected to step up against the debuting Tigresses, to be led by skipper Pam Lastimosa, Carmela Tunay, Loren Lantin and Marivic Meneses with support to come from Eiriel Cortez, Jessey de Leon, Kim Rasmo, Mae Santos and Jan Dusaran.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.