Landslide win for Fresnedi in Muntinlupa


RE-ELECTIONIST Muntinlupa Mayor Jaime Fresnedi won by a landslide along with the majority of his party’s slate in the local election.

Fresnedi was proclaimed by Commission on Elections officer Ronald Sindo, Board of Canvassers Silverio Garing and City Prosecutor Aileen Marie Gutierrez on May 10 at the City Council’s Session Hall.

Fresnedi got 125,250 votes in the official Comelec tally, leading by 58,000 votes over rival Aldrin San Pedro.

Liberal Party bets Ruffy Biazon for Representative, and Celso Dioko for Vice Mayor also won with 135,470 and 103,142 votes, respectively.

LP candidates similarly dominated the race for city council seats. Winning candidates include (District 1) Patricio Boncayao Jr., Bal Niefes, Phanie Teves, Allan Camilon, Ringo Teves, Louie Arciaga, Alex Diaz, and Ivee Arciaga; (District 2) Dhes Arevalo, Tintin Abas, Marissa Rongavilla, Lester Baes, Lucio Constantino, Raffy Sevilla, Victor Ulanday, and Grace Gonzaga.

Fresnedi had called for unity among constituents following an election protest held on
May 9 in front of the Muntinlupa City Hall.

Supporters of San Pedro converged at the National Road and organized a rally against alleged cheating incidents in various polling precincts. The protesters blocked the transport of Vote Counting Machines to the City Hall which caused heavy traffic in the area.

Fresnedi encouraged San Pedro to ask his supporters to refrain from actions that stir violence and cause inconvenience to others. He urged Muntinlupeños to set aside political partialities and be united as one.

The local executive extended his gratitude to all the Board of Election Inspectors, members of the PNP, National Capital Region Police Office reinforcement group, and other uniformed personnel for ensuring the smoothness and safety of the grueling electoral process.

Fresnedi and his team vowed to continue good governance and promote accountability, transparency, and excellence in public service.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.