• Lawmaker seeks creation of Maranaw province


    A House leader has proposed the creation of a new province by dividing Lanao del Sur.

    Deputy Speaker Pangalian Balindong of Lanao del Sur made the pitch under his still unnumbered House Bill, which provides for the creation of Maranaw province, which is currently the first district of Lanao del Sur.

    Balindong argued that the creation of a new province has been approved on October 4, 1971 under Republic Act (RA) 6406, but it was never implemented because then President Ferdinand Marcos declared Martial Law in September 1972.

    Under Balindong’s bill, the new province of Maranaw will cover the municipalities of Buadiposo-Buntong, Bubong. Bumbaran, Ditsaan-Ramain, Kapai, Lumba-Bayabao, Maguing, Marantao, Masiu, Mulondo, Piagapo, Poona Bayabao, Saguiaran, Tagoloan II, Tamparan, Taraka, Wao Bacolod-Kalawi, Balabagan, Balindong, Bayang, Binidayan, Butig, Calanogas, Ganassi, Kapatagan, Lumbaca-Unayan, Lumbatan, Lumbayanague, Madalum, Madamba, Marogong, Pagayawan, Picong, Pualas, Sultan Dumalondong, Tubaran and Tugaya with Marawi City as the capital.

    “The proposed division satisfies all the requisites for the creation of a province under the Local Government Code, as amended by RA 9009. In fact, the legacy of the unimplemented division is the existence of two ZIP codes: Malabang with 9300 and Maranaw [Marawi City] assigned the code 9700,” Balindong pointed out.

    “Its establishment as a new province will certainly promote, invigorate, and reinforce the economic potential of Lanao, and accelerate the development of the region,” he added.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.