• Local climate change action plans implementation needs improvement


    DAVAO CITY: A total of 160 local government units nationwide have complied so far with their respective local climate change action plans. This was revealed by Emmanuel De Guzman, secretary of the Climate Change Commission (CCC) during a press briefing at the Ateneo De Davao University. The country is composed of 81 provinces, 145 cities and 1,489 municipalities. He said despite this small number, there are already local government units that have shown best practices in resilience following a calamity. “The communities in Camotes Island had warning system that was functional during typhoon Yolanda and they were able to plant mangroves along their shorelines, consequently indicating zero casualty during typhoon Yolanda,” De Guzman said. He said it is the thrust of the CCC for local government units to harmonize disaster risk reduction and management program with the climate change adaptation to assure the sustainability is attained especially in the effort to be resilient and eventually in saving more lives. De Guzman said in line with this effort, the government has set up a school wherein local government units can acquire knowhow in coming up with climate change adaptation program that suits their respective environment. He said the national government has also allocated P2 billion fund to finance proposals that address risk problems. “This is tax payers’ contribution to cope with climate change,” De Guzman said.



    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.