• LP stalwarts given top House posts


    At least seven former stalwarts of the Liberal Party (LP) who campaigned for Manuel “Mar” Roxas 2nd cornered powerful positions in the House of Representatives.

    The six — Representatives Rodolfo Fariñas of Ilocos Norte; Jerry Treñas of Iloilo City; Reynaldo Umali of Oriental Mindoro; Peter Unabia of Misamis Oriental; Lucy Torres-Gomez of Leyte, Cesar Sarmiento of Catanduanes and Deogracias Ramos of Sorsogon – joined the PDP-Laban after Roxas lost the presidential race to President Rodrigo Duterte.

    Fariñas is the House Majority Leader, while Umali was named chairman of the committee on justice or the panel that tackles impeachment complaints against the President. Treñas is a member of the House contingent to the Commission on Appointments, Unabia chairs the committee on small and medium enterprises while Ramos heads the committee on rural development.

    Torres-Gomez was named chairperson of the committee on tourism while Sarmiento retained his chairmanship of the committee on transportation.

    Other LP members who did not join PDP-Laban were also given committees to head following the signing of a coalition agreement between the two parties.

    Marikina Rep. Romero Quimbo was named one of the deputy speakers, Batanes Rep. Henedina Abad got the committee on government reorganization, while North Cotabato Rep. Nancy Catamco was named chairperson of the committee on indigenous peoples.

    Quezon City Rep. Winston Castelo was given the committee on Metro Manila development while Dinagat Rep. Arlene Bag-ao got the committee on people’s participation.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.