Manila gets P52 million for flood control, drainage improvement in 2014


THE City of Manila, headed by former president and now Joseph Estrada, got P52 million or the lion’s share of the P271 million budget for flood control and drainage projects under the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA)’s 2014 allocation.

Based on the P2.265 trillion budget for 2014, the Philippine capital of Manila was also awarded with the most number of flood control and drainage improvement projects with 18. A far second is Quezon City with P 37.5 million for 11 projects.

The cities of Makati, Marikina and Parañaque have six projects each with Makati and Marikina getting P19.5 million, respectively, while Caloocan cornered P18 million for four projects.

Parañaque, for its part, ended up with P17.5 million for six projects. Closely following is Taguig with P15 million for four projects.

Las Piñas City, on the other hand, was allotted P11.5 million for five projects.

Taguig have been earmarked with P10 million for four projects, while Muntinlupa got P9.5 million also for four projects.

Pasay was also granted P9.5 million, but the amount was only good for three projects.

Rounding up the list are the six cities which got P9 million each namely: Malabon, Navotas, San Juan, Mandaluyong , Pateros and Pasig.

Of the 15 cities and one municipality in Metro Manila, five of them are headed by members of the ruling Liberal Party (LP) chaired by President Benigno Aquino 3rd. The LP mayors are: Herbert Bautista of Quezon City, Del de Guzman of Marikina, Antolin Oreta of Malabon, Edwin Olivarez of Parañaque and Jaime Fresnedi of Muntinlupa.

The United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) headed by Vice President Jejomar Binay and the Nacionalista Party (NP) of former Sen. and real estate magnate Manuel Villar, Jr. also have five Metro Manila mayors.

UNA has Estrada of Manila, John Reynald Tiangco of Navotas, Junjun Binay of Makati, Oscar Malapitan of Caloocan, and Guia Gomez of San Juan, while the NP has Antonio Calixto of Pasay, Vergel Aguilar of Las Piñas, Lani Cayetano of Taguig, Joey Medina of Pateros and Maribel Eusebio of Pasig.

Valenzuela is headed by Mayor Rex Gatchalian of the Nationalist People’s Coalition headed by the President’s uncle, business tycoon Eduardo Cojuangco Jr. LLANESCA T. PANTI


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.