Manila Water now PH’s largest sewerage operator


MANILA Water Co., the Ayala-led concessionaire in Metro Manila’s East Zone, now operates 38 used water treatment plants with a total capacity of 135 million liters per day, making it the largest sewerage operator in the Philippines.

According to the company, sewerage and sanitation are very critical issues in the whole concession area where nearly 80 percent of Metro Manila homes still use septic tanks, most of which are improperly designed and not well-maintained.

“This is the reason we are intensifying our campaign on used water management as well as continue to build facilities that will create significant impact in environmental protection,” Manila Water said in a statement.

The company added that the concern has been raised as a vital environmental issue in other parts of the country.

The 38 operable used water treatment plants, also called septage treatment plants (STPs) of Manila Water are the following: U.P. STP, Fisheries STP, Pagasa STP, Road 5 STP, Philam STP, Heroes Hill STP, Kalayaan STP, A. Luna STP, Belarmino STP, Palosapis STP, Sikatuna STP, East Ave. STP, Olandes STP, San Mateo SpTP (Septage Treatment Plant), Karangalan 1 STP, Karangalan 2 STP, Karangalan 3 STP, Karangalan 4 STP, Karangalan 5 STP, Karangalan 6 STP, Karangalan 7 STP, Karangalan 8 STP, Karangalan 9 STP, Valle Verde STP, Capitolyo STP, Olandes STP, Diego Silang STP, Lakeview STP, Maharlika STP, Centennial STP, Fortville STP, Bagong Lipunan Condominium (BLC) STP, Makati Pabahay STP, Poblacion STP, Makati South STP, Guadalupe STP, Mandaluyong MRH STP, and FTI STP.

Meanwhile, Manila Water is currently building some new STPs in other locations such as the Marikina North STP, Taguig North STP, Pasig North and South STP.

Manila Water is the east zone concessionaire of the Metropolitan Water Works and Sewerage System. It provides water and sewerage services to more than 6.3 million residents of parts of Quezon City and Manila, Marikina, Pasig, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Pateros, Makati, Taguig and several towns in Rizal Province.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.