Mark your calendars: Duterte declares 2017 holidays


TIME to bring out your calendars to mark the holidays for the coming year.

President Rodrigo Duterte has issued a presidential proclamation listing official holidays for 2017.

In Proclamation No. 50 released by Malacañang on Thursday, Duterte declared regular holidays, special non-working days, as well as a special holiday for schools, starting with New Year’s Day on Sunday, January 1, 2017.

Aside from New Year’s Day, the following were also declared regular holidays: April 9, Araw ng Kagitingan, which falls on a Sunday; April 13, Maundy Thursday; April 14, Good Friday; May 1, Labor Day (Monday); June 12, Independence Day (Monday); August 28, National Heroes’ Day (last Monday of August); November 30, Bonifacio Day (Thursday); December 25, Christmas Day (Monday); and December 30, Rizal Day (Saturday).

Declared special non-working days were January 28, Chinese New Year (Saturday); April 15, Black Saturday; August 21, Benigno “Ninoy” Aquino Jr. Day (Monday); November 1, All Saints’ Day (Wednesday); and December 31, the last day of the year (Sunday).

A special holiday for all schools was set on February 25 in celebration of the 31st anniversary of the EDSA “People Power” Revolution. The event falls on a Saturday. EDSA People Power Revolution is celebrated because it restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country, the proclamation read.

An additional special or non-working day was declared on October 31, which falls on a Tuesday, to “strengthen family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saints’ Day commemorative activities; and [to]promote domestic tourism as well.”

The declaration of national holidays to mark two Islamic feasts, Eid’l Fitr and and Eid’l Adha, will depend on the Islamic calendar or Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient, according to the proclamation.

In line with this, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos was ordered to inform the Office of the President on which days the holidays would fall.

The proclamation also cited Republic Act 9492 for the moving of the holidays, except those that are religious in nature, to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation.

On January 28, Chinese all over the world will mark Spring Festival or the Lunar New Year, one of the most revered and festive Chinese celebrations.

In the proclamation signed on August 16, President Duterte ordered the Department of Labor and Employment to promulgate implementing guidelines concerning holiday pay, among others.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.