Maynilad invests P190M for Quezon City reservoir


West Zone water concessionaire Maynilad Water Services Inc. will begin this month the construction of the P190-million concrete water reservoir in Novaliches, Quezon City, to increase water pressure and ensure round-the-clock water supply in elevated portions of North Caloocan.

In a statement, Ricky Vargas, Maynilad president and chief executive officer, said that the construction of the new water reservoir will start in June and is expected to be completed in April 2014.

Vargas explained that the concrete water reservoir will have a holding capacity of 10 million liters which can supply the requirements of 555,000 Maynilad customers in Sacred Heart Villages, De la Costa Homes Village, Midway Park, Capitol Parkland Subdivision, Mira Monte Heights, Tala Subdivision, Samara Village, Central Luzon Leprosarium and Victoria Wave Economic Zones.

Also expected to benefit from the construction are NHS Tala Subdivision, Cefels Park Subdivision, Soldiers Hills, Victory Heights Subdivision, Guadanoville Subdivision, Mountain Heights, Bankers Village, Pangarap, Adeline Homes and Santo Niño Village.

In the last five years since the first quarter of 2008, Maynilad has spent over P35.95 billion to improve and expand its infrastructure network.

“As a result, around 96.7 percent of our customers now have 24-hour water supply. We will continue to invest in our network to ensure that safe, reliable water is available to all of our customers,” Vargas said.

Last year, the company commissioned two bolted reservoirs to provide over 53,700 residents in Caloocan City with 24-hour water supply at a pressure of at least 16 pounds per square inch. Located along Magdalena and J.P. Ramoy Streets, these facilities have a combined capacity to store 7 million liters and has a total project cost of P48 million.

Maynilad services the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres and Santa Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite province.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.