Maynilad sets P550M for pipe laying


West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services Inc. will invest P500 million to lay nearly 33 kilometers of new pipes in Cavite.

In a statement, Maynilad’s president and chief executive, Ricky Vargas, said that the pipe laying projects will included primary, secondary and tertiary pipes along Buhay na Tubig road (from Aguinaldo Highway to Barangay Pinagbuklod), and along Malagasang Road (from Patindig Araw to Dasmariñas boundary).

The pipe laying projects will start this August and are expected to end by early 2014.

With the additional pipes, Vargas said Maynilad can connect almost 19,000 households and establishments in Imus. Currently, these water consumers are relying on deep wells and costly water delivery tanks for their daily needs.

“We are committed to providing full water service coverage in the West Zone. This project will enable us to reach communities in the southernmost portion of our concession area,” he said.

Maynilad is closely coordinating with the Imus Traffic Management Office (ITMO) and local government of Cavite to minimize traffic and public inconvenience from the pipe laying. Traffic aides will also be deployed to assist traffic flow while the work sites will be enclosed with board-up barricades, with appropriate lighting and traffic/warning signs.

In areas where primary pipes will be laid, the contractors of Maynilad will only be allowed to work from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. These selected work sites will be temporarily restored daily to make the street passable during the day when vehicular traffic is expected to be heavy.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres and Santa Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite province.

James Konstantin Galvez


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.