McIlroy wins Golf Writers Trophy


LONDON: World number one Rory McIlroy has won the Golf Writers Trophy for the second time in three years after a season that saw him win two major championships and help Europe to Ryder Cup success.

The 25-year-old Northern Irishman was the overwhelming choice for the prestigious award following votes cast by members of the Association of Golf Writers.

“First of all I’d like to say a huge thank you to the members of the Association of Golf Writers who have felt me worthy to receive this honour, I really do appreciate it,” McIlroy said.

“To win it for the first time in 2012 felt like a great achievement but to win again in 2014 is testimony to what has been a truly fabulous year for me.”

In addition to his victories in the Open Championship and the US PGA Championship, McIlroy also won the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational and the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth.

The Golf Writers Trophy was first awarded in 1951 and is given to the European who has made the most outstanding contribution to the sport during the year.

Previous two-time winners include Nick Faldo, Padraig Harrington, Tony Jacklin, Sandy Lyle, Bernhard Langer and Annika Sorenstam. The only players to win it three times are Seve Ballesteros and Lee Westwood.

Germany’s Martin Kaymer finished runner-up following his wins in the US Open and the Players Championship, with Europe’s victorious Ryder Cup team voted into third place.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.