Mercedes-Benz takes drivers, team titles in DTM


The Mercedes-AMG DTM Team has rounded off the season in style. After Pascal Wehrlein wrapped up the drivers’ title the other Saturday, gooix/Original-Teile Mercedes-AMG claimed the top spot in the DTM team championship in the next day’s final race. Wehrlein and his teammate Christian Vietoris finished on a joint score of 225 points, enough to take their team to the title by a margin of 19 points.

Mercedes Benz is the most successful brand in the history of the internationally popular touring car series, having secured 10 drivers, 13 team and six manufacturers’ titles in all.

Paul Di Resta booked P4 in the last race of the season at the Hockenheimring. Gary Paffett in P9 also achieved a points-scoring finish. Daniel Juncadella took the chequered flag in P12. Maximilian Götz, Robert Wickens and Lucas Auer placed 13th, 18th and 19th respectively. Christian Vietoris retired after a collision.

The new DTM champion Pascal Wehrlein came 20th in the final race of his championship season. The youngest champion in the history of the series celebrated his 21st birthday the other Sunday. Twenty-four hours earlier, he clinched the championship title with a P8 finish in the first of the weekend’s two races.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.