• Metro cities adopt typhoon-lashed areas


    THE Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) and Metro Manila mayors agreed to adopt some local government units (LGUs) hit by Typhoon Lando.

    During the meeting of the Metro Manila Council (MMC), MMDA Officer in Charge Emerson Carlos approved the resolution to adopt some LGUs to speed up their recovery.

    Carlos said a Metro Manila mayor will select one or several LGUs that it will assist for a year.

    The MMC, composed of 17 mayors of the National Capital Region, is the policy-making body of the MMDA.

    The money to be utilized for the adopt-an-LGU scheme will come from the disaster risk reduction management fund of Metro mayors.

    The council initially listed 18 municipalities in Luzon affected by Lando that will be adopted.

    Muntinlupa City will adopt Jaen and Lupao, both in Nueva Ecija; Valenzuela City will adopt San Antonio, Nueva Ecija; Las Piñas City will help Calumpit, Bulacan while Quezon City will adopt San Miguel, Bulacan; Bambang, Nueva Ecija; and Baler, Quezon.

    San Juan City meanwhile chose Caba, La Union and Manila, Cabanatuan City.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.