• Milo marathon national finals to be held in Clark


    Because of heavy traffic in Metro Manila, Nestle Philippines decided to hold this year’s national finals of the 39th Milo Marathon at the Clark Development Corporation compound in Angeles City.

    Milo Marathon race organizer Rio de la Cruz said that the new location would give the expected 20,000 runners a fresh challenge, a better route and great running experience.

    “With these routes, runners will be able to get a chance to enjoy being away from the bustles of Metro Manila traffic. We believe our runners will appreciate this,” said De la Cruz.

    He said that the nationwide races would be composed of 18 regional legs starting in Dagupan City on June 28. It will resume in Baguio on July 5, to be followed by the Tarlac leg on July 12 and the Balanga, Bataan segment on July 19. The Manila qualifying race is set on July 26 at the Mall of Asia Arena ground in Pasay City.

    The schedules of the other legs are as follows: Calapan, Mindoro (August 2), Lipa City (August 9), Naga (August 16), Lucena (August 30), Iloilo (September 20), Bacolod (September 27), Tagbilaran (October 4), Cebu (October 11), General Santos (October 18), Davao (November 8), Butuan (November 15) and Cagayan de Oro (November 22).

    The national finals will be on December 6 in Angeles City. Last year’s winners Rafael Poliquit and Mary Joy Tabal vowed to defend their titles in the national finals to represent the country in the 2016 Boston Marathon.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.