Mitsubishi Evos rule Round 2 of PH GT series


PH-GT-series20140819THE recent Round 2 of the 2014 Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship brought out 17 racing machines on the asphalt of the Batangas Racing Circuit.

The qualifying session saw the two GT 300 Mitsubishi Evolutions of Don Don Portugal and Team Häfele’s Veli-Matti Kaikkonen leading the pack in first and second. They were followed by the GT 200 Hondas of Carlos Anton, Joey Perry and Paolo Mantolino, who filled up the third, fourth and fifth spots. The rest of the grid was completed by GT 150 and GT 100 competitors.

The first 10-lap sprint race got off to a rough start when Jomari Yllana crashed into the Civic FD of Anton in the first corner, taking the GT 200 driver out of the race. Yllana managed to carry on and eventually took third in GT 300.

In the lead pack, Portugal led from start to finish to win GT 300, followed by Kaikkonen. Mantolino clinched GT 200 ahead of Perry while Dindo de Jesus, Joel Portugal and Allan Macaraig finished in that order in GT 150.

Arvin Drueco, who crossed the line first in GT 100, was disqualified from the final standings after failing the dynamometer inspection. This handed the win to Edwin Rodriguez in the Mazda Phils.-sponsored Mazda 2, with Raffy Latorre taking second place.

The second 17-lap GT race was a close battle between Kaikkonen and Don Don Portugal, who had spun out in the opening laps. But Portugal clawed his way back and caught up with Kaikkonen, who made an error while lapping the slower cars. This handed the GT 300 class win to Portugal.

Anton fought hard to take first in GT 200. He was followed by Mantolino and Perry. In GT 150, Richmon dela Rosa showed his true pace with a newly built car to take the win. Bong Perez and Antonio Moncupa finished after him. Edwin Rodriguez again won GT 100, with Latorre and Arvin Drueco trailing him.

The third leg of the 2014 Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship will be held on August 30 and 31 at the Clark International Speedway.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.