MITSUBISHI Motors Phils. Corp. (MMPC) announced that the Mitsubishi Lancer International Junior Tennis Championship (MLIJTC), which this year marks its silver anniversary, drew more than 100 players coming from 32 countries competing in the tournament.

The sporting event’s qualifying draw took place on March 16 and 17, and the main draw was staged from March 18 to 23. The tournament was held at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center. MMPC explained the MLIJTC is considered as the country’s longest-running junior tennis tournament and is also one of the biggest junior tournaments in the international scene.

This year’s top-seeded players included Duck Hee Lee of Korea, Harry Boucher of Australia, Ken Onishi of Japan and Marc Polmans of Australia in the boys’ division. In the girls’ division the top-seeded players were Shilin Xu, Ziyue Sun and Xiaodi You, all representing China, and Katie Boulter of Great Britain. MMPC said that while the country welcomed the foreign junior netters, organizers also supported the Philippines’ Alberto Lim Jr., Eric Olivares Jr, John Decasa, Joachim Samson, Roxanne Resma, Khim Iglupas and Maia Balce.

The MLIJTC is a Grade One tournament. On its 25th year, the event’s organizers—International Tennis Federation, Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Tennis Association and MMPC—commemorated how the tourney became one of the grassroots source of some of the world’s tennis superstars.

Some former MLIJTC players who had established their names are Lleyton Hewitt, Andy Roddick and Leander Paes. Among the host country’s pride are Francesca La’o, Jennifer Saret and Maricris Fernandez.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.