MMDA to provide livelihood in Yolanda-devastated areas


THE Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) on Monday underscored its commitment to provide livelihood to residents displaced by Super Typhoon Yolanda.

MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino said the agency will reconstruct a public market in Coron, Palawan, and will send boat construction teams to Sulat, Eastern Samar.

Tolentino said the public market will provide displaced residents of Coron with a source of livelihood and help bring back normalcy in the typhoon-hit area.

“We will send teams to Coron and Sulat to build public markets and fishing boats. This is part of our commitment to help areas ravaged by Yolanda recover,” he said.

The towns of Coron and Sulat, both devastated by the super typhoon, are under MMDA’s “Adopt-a-Town” program,

In January, MMDA donated 10 motor boats to fishermen in Sulat. Each motorboat is equipped with lamps and fishing nets. The agency committed to donate a total of 50 motorboats to the municipality.

At least two MMDA teams on Monday departed for Coron and Sulat for the public market and boat construction projects.

MMDA General Manager Corazon Jimenez will personally supervise the construction works in the two provinces from April 7 to 13.

Under the MMDA’s “Adopt-a-town” scheme, Metro Manila local government units have pledged to help rehabilitate affected areas in Leyte, Eastern Samar, Western Samar and Iloilo.

The Metro Manila cities and their respective ‘adopted’ areas are Quezon City (Palampon, Tolosa, Santa Fe in Leyte), Pasig City (Mayorga, Palo, Barotac Viejo, Barotac Nuevo and Dumangas in Iloilo), Manda–luyong City (Isabel and Tanauan in Leyte), Marikina City (Hernani and Lorente in Eastern Samar), San Juan (Ormoc City and Albuera in Leyte), Taguig City (Gen. McArthur, Guiuan, Saucedo, Mercedes and Quinapondan in Eastern Samar), Las Pinas City (Julita and Dulag in Leyte), Caloocan City (Abayog, McArthur and La Paz in Leyte), Malabon City (Bogo and Cebu), Navotas City (Lawaan and Giporlos in Eastern Samar), Valenzuela City (Basey and Marabut in Western Samar), Paranaque City (Maydolong and Balanginga in Eastern Samar), Pasay City (Burauen, Tabon- Tabon and Dagami in Leyte), Muntinlupa City (Alang-Alang and Jaro in Leyte), Manila (Balangkayan and Taft in Eastern Samar) and Makati City (Carigara, Leyte).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.