• Mojdeh, Borres, Aplaon rule Open Water category

    The participants in the Open Water of the 75th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Championship held on Sunday at the Crystal Sand beach front in Boracay. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    The participants in the Open Water of the 75th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Championship held on Sunday at the Crystal Sand beach front in Boracay. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    BORACAY: Former Rookie of the Year awardee Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Manila, Marie Joe Borres of Capiz and Franchino Aplaon of Iloilo reigned supreme in the Open Water cate-gory of the 75th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Championship dubbed as the Cong. Ted Haresco Jr. Swim Cup on Sunday.

    Mojdeh, who recently bagged gold medals in the Indian Ocean All Stars Challenge in Australia,

    proved too much against her rivals in the girls’ 8 years 400m even as she checked in at eight minutes and 19 seconds.

    Borres, on the other hand, registered 10 minutes and 34 seconds to rule the girls’ 10 years 600m class while Aplaon dominated the boys’ 14 years 800m event by submitting 12 minutes and 46 seconds.

    “The Open Water is an event in the World Summer University Games and as early as now, we want to prepare these kids for our future participation in that event. We want to introduce the proper way of swimming in an open water event since this category is way different in a standard pool competition,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Indian Ocean All Stars Challenge champion Stephen Guzman of Whimbrel (boys’ 10 years 600m), Marc Bryan Dula of Susan Papa Academy (boys’ 8 years 400m), Kobe Soguilon of Aklan (boys’ 15 years 800m) and Gwangju World University Games-bound Rose Mary Occeno (girls’ 17-over 800m) also topped their respective classes in the event hosted by the Aklan Swimming Team headed by its President Kokoy Soguilon and supported by Philippine Red Cross Boracay-Malay Chapter led by Nieva Mendoza and Elena Brugger.

    Also winning gold medals were Chelsea Pastolero (girls’ 6-under 200m), Nicole Camacho (girls’ 7 years 400m), Joana Amor Cervas (girls’ 9 years 600m), Sidley Rose Malumay (girls’ 11 years 600m), Tricia Mae Capistrano (girls’ 12 years 600m), Tanya Ureta (girls’ 13 years 800m), Rencel Grace Uytoco (girls’ 14 years 800m), Alic Deniel Dela Cruz (girls’ 15 years 800m) and Laira Faye Enero (girls’ 15 years 800m).

    The other gold medalists were Ferdinand Ian Trinidad (boys’ 13 years 800m), Rex Dela Cruz (boys’ 6-under 200m), Jennuel Booh Azarcon (boys’ 9 years 600m), Lucio Cuyong 2nd (boys’ 11 years 600m), Michael Marino (boys’ 12 years 600m), Willrichson Casidsid (boys’ 16 years 800m) and Casy Gumabong (boys’ 17-over 800m).

    “We will continue guiding these young swimmers because these are the future of Philippine swimming. A lot of talented swimmers have made their marks here and we are looking forward to seeing them compete in international competitions in the future,” added PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa.

    The tournament serves as qualifying for international tournaments in Hong Kong, India, South Korea, Singapore, Japan, China, Turkey and Thailand.

    “We have a lot of international tournaments lined up this year. As early as now, we want to expose our young swimmers in international competitions. Mas maganda na habang bata pa inilalaban na para mas lumakas ang loob nila, ma-motive at mapataas yung standards nila na pang-international hindi pang-local tournament,” stressed Papa.

    The PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.