Mojdeh, Evangelista shine as records fall in PSL meet


The record breakers in the 119th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series pose for a photo with Philippine Swimming League President Susan Papa. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Thirteen new re­-cords were estab-lished on the second day of the 119th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series on Sunday at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool in Malate, Manila.

Reigning PSL Female Swimmer of the Year Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque (girls’ 11-year) and Aishel Cid Evangelista of Aquaspeed Sailfish (boys’ 7-year) established three records each in their respective categories.

Mojdeh nailed new marks in the 100m breaststroke (1:23.94), 50m butterfly (31.65) and 100m butterfly (1:09.87) while Evangelista broke the 100m freestyle (1:18.85), 50m freestyle (36.59) and 100m backstroke (1:34.53) records.

Marc Bryan Dula of Wisenheimer Academy (boys’ 10-year 100m backstroke, 1:19.76), Mico Abina of San Sebastian College-Recoletos (boys’ 15-over 50m freestyle, 24.65) and Heather White of British School Manila (girls’ 10-year 50m freestyl, 31.25) also hammered new marks in their events.

The other record-breakers were Jose Gabriel Lavina in boys’ 15-over – 50m breaststroke (31.56), Kyla Soguilon in girls’ 12-year 50m butterfly (31.61), Vaugh Andre Aquino in boys’ 13-year 50m freestyle (26.56), Charize Juliana Esmero in girls’ 14-year 100m backstroke (1:12.03) and Leonard Licudo in boys’ 15-over 50m freestyle (25.41).

“More records were broken and were happy to see these young swimmers improve from time to time. There are new faces shining in each leg of our National Series and we’re hoping to see more in the next competitions that we’ll be staging,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

The gold medal winners were Recz Agustin, Lee Grant Cabral. Carmenrose Matabuena, Joy Rodgers, Master Charles Janda, Jordan Ken Lobos, Alister Corpuz, Julianne Torres, John Paul Salibio and Angela Torrico.

Vaughn Dela Cruz Tirazona, Jux Solita, Ilaya Escobal, Jeanne Calayag, Maria Del Valle, Ixidorre Cajucom, Allaine Bartilad, Ivhana Dimaligalig, Joseph Corpuz, Raindale Ching, Sebastian Alcoran, Mervier Mirandilla, Gabriel Chua, Sofia Ching, Sabrina Campana, Nathaniel Capua, Jasper Benigla, Leah Buenaventura, Sophia Tumanglay, Urielle Buna and Jasmine Omolon also delivered medals.

The PSL is recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission as the official swimming association in the country following its impressive grassroots development program that aims to train talented swimmers for future international competitions.

It is also accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines – an affiliate of the International University Sports Federation (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.