Mojdeh, Malapitan break recordsas PSL wins 10 more golds in HK

Record-breakers Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Record-breakers Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh

Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paraña­que’s Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Divine Word College-Calapan’s Rio Lorenzo Malapitan broke records in their respective

events as the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) racked up 10 more gold medals on the final day of the 2016 Stingrays Invitational Swimming Championships held at the Hong Kong International School swimming pool in Tai Tam, Hong Kong.

Mojdeh pocketed three more gold medals including record-breaking feats in the girls’ 9-under 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle. She submitted 42.23 in erasing the 44.22 previous record in the 50m breaststroke then registered 32.99, smashing the 33.38 old mark in the 50m freestyle.

The nine-year-old Mojdeh, a multi-gold medalist in the Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge and Tokyo Winters Swimming Championship, also ruled the 50m backstroke (37.86), making her medal haul improved to five golds, counting her two mints in 100m Individual Medley (IM) and 50m butterfly.

Malapitan, a gold medalist in the Palarong Pambansa, dominated the boys’ 10-12 100m breaststroke in record fashion as he checked in at 1:16.75, beating the 1:20.56 old mark before ripping the 100m butterfly record of 1:12.90 with his new mark of 1:10.74.

Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas joined the list of record-breakers as he topped the boys’ 15-over 100m butterfly in 56.81, edging the 57.95 old mark of Jeremy Cheung in 2015.

Rio Lorenzo Malapitan CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Rio Lorenzo Malapitan CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The other gold medallists were Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy in boys’ 9-under 50m backstroke (39.46), Kyla Soguilon of Sun Yat Sen Kalibo in girls’ 10-12 100m butterfly (1:11.42) and 50m freestyle 29.52, and the boys’ 10-under 200m freestyle relay.

Winning silver medals were Soguilon in 100m freestyle (1:05.29) and 200m backstroke (2:31.77), Zamora in 200m butterfly (2:08.29) and 200m freestyle (1:58.34), and Jerard Dominic Jacinto in boys’ 15-over 200m backstroke (2:09.88) while the bronze winners were Heather White (girls’ 9-under 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle), Carmenrose Mata­buena (girls’ 15-over 200m butterfly), Lyndon Herrera (boys’ 15-over 200m butterfly), Joey Del Rosario (boys’ 9-under 50m breaststroke) and the girls’ 10-under 200m freestyle relay.

Overall, the Philippines won 16 golds, 11 silvers and 16 bronzes, surpassing the country;s nine-gold medal output in the 2015 edition.

“We are so happy with the outcome. I’m so proud of these kids talagang hindi sila nagpatalo kahit mas matatanda at mas matatangkad ang kalaban nila,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.