Mourning, Richmond voted into basketball Hall of Fame


SPRINGFIELD, USA: Former NBA stars Alonzo Mourning and Mitch Richmond were among five inductees announced on Monday (Tuesday in Manila) for enshrinement in the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Mourning and Richmond will join the game’s other legends in ceremonies at the sporting shrine on August 8 at Springfield, Massachusetts.

Joining them will be former US college coaches Gary Williams and Nolan Richardson and Immaculata University’s 1970s women’s US national championship squads.

Five other 2014 inductees from special committees were announced in February, including former NBA commissioner David Stern, retired NBA coach Bob Leonard and former players Nat Clifton, Guy Rodgers and Sarunas Marciulionis.

“Each inductee has made great strides in the sport and serves as an inspiration to many,” Hall of Fame president John Doleva said.

Finalists needed support from 18 of 24 honors committee members for induction.

Mourning was a two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year and a seven-time NBA All-Star who won an NBA title with Miami in 2006. The former Georgetown University star twice led the NBA in blocked shots in a career spanning from 1993-2008, a run that included a comeback after a 2003 kidney transplant.

Richmond, a six-time NBA All-Star, helped the 1996 US Olympic team capture gold in Atlanta and was a member of the 2002 NBA champion Los Angeles Lakers.

Williams coached the University of Maryland from 1990-2011, guiding the Terrapins to the US national men’s crown in 2002 while Richardson guided the University of Arkansas to the 1994 national crown. Immaculata went 60-2 with three national titles in a row.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.