National Book Awards opens nominations


Now on its 35th year, the National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) will mount the National Book Awards 2016. All NBDB-registered publishers are welcome to submit their nominations for books in Filipino or English published in 2015.

As in previous years, a third language is included for nominated titles in the Literary Division. Books published in Bisaya/Binisaya/Cebuano within the last three calendar years (2013-2015) will be accepted for this year’s awards.

Nominations for the Literary division shall include entries on Fiction (Novels and Short Stories), Non-Fiction Prose, Essays, Anthology, Literary Criticism/Literary History, Poetry, Graphic Literature, and Translation categories while nominations for the Non-Literary division shall include Art, Professions, Social Sciences, History, Journalism, Leisure, Food, and Science categories.

Nominations are also open for the Language Studies category. E-books may be nominated in any category except Design.

The winner of each category will receive a cash prize of P15,000, which will be awarded to the author or book designer.

Special awards such as the Juan C. Laya Prize, Alfonso T. Ongpin Prize, Ophelia Alcantara Dimalanta Prize, Clodualdo del Mundo Sr. Prize, Cirilo F. Bautista Prize, Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize, Elfren S. Cruz Prize, and Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino Prize will also be given to the winners of the National Book Awards.

Deadline for submission is May 6, Friday, 5 p.m. Nominations mailed from outside Metro Manila will be accepted if postmarked May 6.

Regional languages to be featured in the up-coming years will be as follows: Waray in 2017, Maranao in 2018, and Maguindanaon in 2019.

For complete information, the 2016 National Book Awards Nomination/Selection Criteria may be downloaded at

For further inquiries, contact the NBDB Secretariat through Debbie Nieto or Ihna Embalzado at 929-3887 local 804 or e-mail


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.