National Drag Racing Series winners announced

Drag racers try to out-sprint each other at the Batangas Racing Circuit

Drag racers try to out-sprint each other at the Batangas Racing Circuit

The second leg of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) flagged off at the Batnagas Racing Circuit in Rosario, Batangas a fortnight ago, with Sheldon Chua besting the field as the usual top-runners struggled with mechanical issues..

Piloting the orange tube-framed “Tiunami 3” Honda CRX, Chua was able to maintain Team JCT-Blanche’s domination of the Quick 8 Class, as Jonathan Tiu’s Nissan GT-R continued to experience mechanical gremlins during the day’s races.

The first heat of Quick-8 saw Mark Joseph Manalo bowing out early when his number 67 RSL Motorsports Civic experienced engine failure during the pass against its sister car piloted by Martin Manalo. RSL Motorsports’ number 76 car was able to fight on until the final heat, only yielding to Chua to take the second spot for the Quick-8 class.

Tiu was eliminated in the second heat against Martin Manalo when during the run, the “Tiunami 1” Nissan GT-R’s clutch overheated, causing the engine’s management system to reduce power. Cheers erupted from the RSL Motorsport’s paddock when their driver managed to defeat Philippine drag racing’s “Godzilla.” Therefore, Tiu had to be content with third place on the podium.

In the Pro-class, Arvin Millet of Temz AutoMart was able to beat Martin Manalo for the top spot. Both racers broke out of their dialed-in times, but it was Millet in the #52 Civic EK sedan who had the better reaction time, breaking the deadlock and therefore getting first place. Jonathan Tiu inherited third despite the same issue happening again in one of the rounds.

In the Expert Class, Temz AutoMart drivers Chris Jayson Millet and Arvin Millet garnered the podium’s top spots, with Chris getting closest to his dialed-in time with a run of 12.952. Haimer Bora claimed third place.

The Sportsman Class saw Victor Pe Benito on the top spot, followed by Darren Ramirez and Roy Vibar.

Meanhwile, first place in the Hot Street Class went to Cer Olliriz Alcala, followed by Eduardo Dela Roca in second, and Malvin Alcantara clinching the battle for 3rd place after his competitor ran a red light.

A total of 107 participants joined the NDRC’s five official classes, which proves that the sport continuously attracts new and aspiring racers especially in the entry-level, Sportsman and Hot Street classes.

The NDRC heads back to Clark International Speedway for the third leg of the Northern Series on March 28, 2015.

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.