NCC Final 4 winners to be declared co-champions


The winners of the Final Four matches in the 2015 National Collegiate Championship (NCC) at the San Juan Arena today will be declared as co-champions, according to the Philippine Collegiate Champions League board.

“(We) decided to shorten the NCC competitions in consideration of safety and convenience of students and players. Therefore, the winners of today’s games will be declared as co-champions of 2015 National Collegiate Championship and shall share the prize awards due them,” the statement said.

Defending champion San Beda College will be battling reigning National Collegiate Athletic Association titlist Colegio de San Juan Letran at 2 p.m. while University Athletic Association of the Philippines champion Far Eastern University takes on Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation (CESAFI) winner University of San Carlos (USC) at 4 p.m.

The matches were originally scheduled on Wednesday but were rescheduled because of typhoon Nona.

San Beda booked its ticket to the semifinals after ending the impressive run of Technological Institute of the Philippines with a slim 79-77 victory with former De La Salle University standout Robert Bolick and Cameroonian Donald Tankoua leading the Red Lions with 13 points each.

On the other hand, USC, led by Cameroonian reinforcement Shooster Olago, secured a semis spot by trouncing UAAP runners-up University of Santo Tomas, 82-72, in the quarterfinals.

Olago finished with 19 points and 15 rebounds.

For their parts, Letran and FEU got automatic seats in the Final Four for winning their respective titles in their collegiate leagues.

Ateneo de Manila University holds the most number of NCC crowns, winning in 2007, 2009 and 2010 editions while FEU (2004 and 2005), University of the East (2003 and 2006) and La Salle (2008 and 2013) won twice in different years. San Beda, UST (2012) and San Sebastian College (2011) earned one each.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.