• NCCA calls for entries to 2015 writer’s prize


    The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), through its Plan/Project Formulation and Programming Division, is now calling on entries for the biennial NCCA Writers’ Prize.

    The award is open to all Filipino writers, of legal age, except to the officers and members of the NCCA Secretariat and the incumbent Executive Council Members of the NCCA Committee on Literary Arts.

    NCCA Writers’ Award serves as an opportunity to have a direct hand in the development of Filipino literature. It is handed out every two years to encourage the continuing development of a pluralistic culture by the people themselves through literature.

    For 2015, five eligible writers will be chosen to create their respective works in categories identified by NCCA: Poetry in the Kankana-ey language, Essay in Meranao, Novel in Riconanda, Short Story in Kapampangan, and Drama in Kinaray-a.

    Each writer will be given a writing grant amounting to two hundred fifty thousand pesos (250,000.00 Php) to assist the winner during the writing stage. The award is valid for one year whithin which he will be freed from his regular workload and be given ample time to complete the manuscript for said writing projects.

    The last batch of NCCA Writers’ Awardees for 2013 were Ariel Tabag for Novel in the Ilokano language, Joselito Delos Reyes for Short Story in Filipino, Hope Sabanpan-Yu for Essay in Cebuano, Rafael Banzuela, Jr. for Poetry in Bikolano and Jeremy Alexandre Evardone for Drama in Waray language. They received the award during the 2014 Taboan Literary Festival in Subic.

    Interested applicants may acquire forms from the NCCA PPFPD Office or download them at the NCCAWebsite (ncca.gov.ph). For complete details, call 527-2192 loc 503.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.