• NCCA chairman awarded as QC’s Outstanding Citizen


    NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr

    National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Chairman Felipe De Leon Jr. was honored as one of Quezon City’s Outstanding Citizens by the city government in its 74th foundation anniversary.

    Now on its 11th year, the highest recognition conferred to citizens and institutions who made contributions to the development of the city and the country in the 2013 Quezon City Gawad Parangal Awards night held at the Crowne Plaza Galleria on October 12, where 10 citizens and three institutions were recognized.

    De Leon was cited for his work in the arts and culture sector, leading many cultural institutions and organizations including the NCCA as well as promoting and preserving indigenous musical forms.

    Other awardees were Ombudsman Conchita Carpio-Morales; Dr. Ernesto Domingo of the UP College of Medicine; Prof. Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio; Philippine Basketball Association Commissioner Angelico “Butch” Salud; musician-composer Jaime Ramon “Jim” Paredes; broadcast journalist Maria Cristina Monzon-Palma; former Quezon City Vice Mayor Connie Angeles; entrepreneur Socorro Ramos; and Metrobank Foundation President Aniceto Sobrepeña.

    Three institutions that received recognition were Ramon Magsaysay (Cubao) High School, awarded for their sustained high-standard public school education; Philippine Madrigal Singers, one of the world’s most awarded choirs; and Eastwood City-Megaworld for being a self-sufficient, self-contained and master-planned development within the city.

    Renowned personalities in the genre of music, visual or performing arts, medicine, judiciary and the academe were recognized in the past years. Previous awardees include the late President Corazon Aquino, National Artist Virgilio Almario, National Artist Eddie Romero, National Artist Napoleon Abueva, Dr. Jaime Laya, pianist Cecile Licad, Gilda Cordero-Fernando, Lea Salonga, Charo Santos, Cheche Lazaro, Atty. Felipe Gozon, Rustica Carpio, Fr. Joaquin Bernas, S.J., and Dolphy.

    The selection board was headed by Dr. Emerlinda Roman, former president of the University of the Philippines, together with Dr. Manuel Alba, chairman of the award annual search committee. Other committee members include multi-awarded writer Dr. Jose Dalisay Jr., Integrated Bar of the Philippines Quezon City chapter President Atty. Victoria Loanzon, former Councilor Alberto Galarpe, and Cultural and Tourism Affairs Office head Rosario Yara.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.