• New appointments at Customs a ‘hoax’


    A list of new appointments by President Rodrigo Duterte containing the names of 24 new and old hands in the Bureau of Customs (BoC) and circulating in the agency has turned out to be a hoax.

    The office of Commissioner Nicanor Faeldon on Wednesday immediately denied the existence of such list, saying “it’s a hoax.”

    A check with Malacañang also showed no such presidential appointments.

    The list contained the names of five new Customs deputy commissioners, 13 district and sub-port collectors and 6 directors.

    Among them were two former comrades of Faeldon in the former rebel Magdalo group–former Captains Milo Maestrocampo and Gerardo Gambalo–who were reportedly designated as directors for Port Operations and Finance Services, respectively.

    Faeldon, Maestrocampo and Gambala were among the 9 military junior officers who were dismissed from the service after they were convicted for their involvement in the 2003 Oakwood mutiny.

    Also on the list was the former Western Mindanao Command chief, now retired Lt. Gen. Juancho Sabban as deputy commission for intelligence.

    Sabban, a decorated officer, retired in March 2013.

    The others were lawyer Arnel Alcaraz, deputy commissioner for enforcement group; lawyer Reynaldo Nicolas deputy commissioner for revenue collection monitoring group; lawyer Edward James Dybuco, deputy commissioner for internal administration group; Vladimir Reyes, deputy commissioner for management information system and technology group.

    Lawyer Jessica Mamuri, Cebu district collector; Joey San Andres, North Harbor collector; lawyer Noah Dimaporo; Harbor Center collector; Artemio Ricarte, Batangas district collector; lawyer Aizza Gonzales, Manila International Container Port district collector; lawyer Kristen Banganan, Subic district collector; Alfredo Cruz, PEZA-Cavite collector; lawyer Kenji Ameda, Clark district collector; Fidel Villanueva, La Union district collector.

    Lawyer Jelina Magsusi, Port of Manila district collector; Lilibeth Mangsal, Surigao district collector; lawyer Ding So, Ninoy Aquino International district collector; lawyer Adelina Molina, Davao district collector.

    Former Southern Luzon Command spokesman Col. Neil Anthony Estrella, director, Customs Intelligence and Investigation Service; lawyer Alvin Ebreo, director, legal service; lawyer Divina Hernandez, director, collection service; and lawyer Julito Doria, chief, X-ray field project.

    Among the bureau old-timers on the list were Nicolas, Dybuco, Mamuri, Gonzales, Villanueva, Dimaporo, So, Molina Ricarte, San Andres and Doria.

    Dybuco, Molina and So were among the 12 Customs district collectors who resigned in July 2013, a day after former Customs commissioner and now Muntinlupa City (Metro Manila) Rep. Rozzano Rufino Biazon ordered all district collectors and hand to implement a massive reshuffle in the bureau.

    Nicolas was terminated as Customs deputy commissioner for assessment and operations group in 2011 for lacking the required career executive service eligibility.

    The Civil Service Commission has ordered the reinstatement of Nicolas in its May 29, 2012 resolution but was never implemented.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.