New faces rise in Bicol; Villafuerte clan suffers losses


LEGAZPI CITY: New faces emerged in the Bicol vote, even upending the political dynasties in the region.

In Albay province, re-electionist Mayor Krisel Lagman-Luistro of the Liberal Party (LP), eldest daughter of outgoing Rep. Edcel Lagman—lost to Marie “May” Demetriou of United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) by 633 votes in the concluded mayoral post in Tabaco City.

Housewife-turned-neophyte politico Demetriou garnered 11,846 votes, while last-termer Krisel Lagman-Luistro got 11,213.

Demetriou fondly called by the people as “May” (mother) is the wife of former Mayor Antonio Demetriou, a close ally of former President now Manila Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and sister-in-law of former Comelec Chairman Justice Harriet Demetriou.

In Albay’s first congressional district, Grecon “Grex” Lagman gunning for a House seat has a slim margin over opponent Ricky Ziga of UNA.

Lagman with 32,081 votes has a 597-vote lead over Ricky Ziga with 31,484.

In Albay’s Malinao town, Vice Mayor Alice Morales of UNA won over LP reelectionist Mayor Billy Ceriola.

Morales is the sibling of slain Makati City Engr. Nelson Morales, provincial chairman of UNA in Albay. At least three mayoral candidates under UNA won the mayoral seats in Albay—Marie Demetriou in Tabaco City, Alice Morales in Malinao town and Leo Templado of Tiwi.

Demetriou, Morales and Templado dumped the powerful reelectionist Mayors Krisel Lagman-Luistro, Billy Ceriola and Mavic Villanueva of the LP.

In Camarines Sur, the powerful Villafuerte clan was trounced by Rep. Dato Arroyo of the second district and lawyer Leni Robredo of the third district.

However, 24-year-old Miguel “Migz” Villafuerte routed his grandfather Luis.

The grandson reaped 170,841 votes to tote a 40,000-vote lead over his grandfather, outgoing Rep. Luis Villafuerte of Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC), who mustered 131,627 votes based on the poll body report here.

The Villafuerte patriarch’s wife lawyer Nelly Favis-Villafuerte who battled lawyer Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo for a House seat also lost. Robredo garnered 107,496 votes, representing 76.93 percent of the votes cast in the district against Nelly with 29,813 votes.

Outgoing Gov. Luis Raymund “LRay” Villafuerte’s attempt to grab the House seat from his former political ally (second district) incumbent Rep. Diosdado “Dato” Arroyo (Lakas), son of former President and now Rep. Gloria Arroyo of Pampanga, flopped. Arroyo, Pampangueño by birth but schooled and lived in Bicol since his college days was given a fresh mandate. Arroyo took 46,604 votes against to LRay with 39,774 votes.

First district reelectionist Rep. Rolando Andaya (Lakas) buried with his 45,957 votes the 4,578 mustered by rival Nestor de los Reyes of the Nacionalista Party.

In Camarines Sur’s fourth district, Wimpy Fuentebella (NPC), who embodies a 105-year-old dynasty, is in a neck-and-neck race with actor-turned-politician Aga Muhlach.

As of this writing, both camps are claiming an overwhelming lead: Muhlach has 45,131 votes, Wimpy with 41,059.

In the fifth district, Rep. Salvio Fortuno (LP) won his reelection bid with 60,352 votes against contender Felix Alfelor (NPC), who had 33,196, while actor Rez Cortez (UNA) got 11,142 votes.

Sorsogon gubernatorial candidate Eric Dioneda (Independent) garnered 52,068 votes against reelectionist Gov. Raul Lee with 52,058 or a lead of 10 votes.

In Camarines Norte, Gov. Edgardo Tallado was reelected anew; rival Jojo Unico lost.
Catanduanes reelectionist Gov. Joseph Cua lost to Cely Wong. Wong garnered 22,927 votes; Cua, 22,428. Wong is a perennial loser for congressional race but won in her gubernatorial bid.

Gov. Rizalina Seachon-Lanete of Masbate was re-elected and prevailed over second district Rep. Antonio Kho.

Rhaydz B. Barcia


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.