• New Justice, Energy secretaries sworn in


    Two new Cabinet secretaries took their oaths of office before President Benigno Aquino 3rd on Friday.

    In a ceremony in Malacanang, Aquino swore in Justice Secretary Benjamin Caguioa and Energy Secretary Zenaida Monsada, who will replace Cabinet members running for senator in the 2016 elections.

    Aquino appointed Caguioa last week as ad interim secretary of the Department of Justice (DOJ) after the resignation of senatorial aspirant Leila de Lima.

    Caguiao previously served as chief presidential legal counsel and was Aquino’s college classmate at the Ateneo de Manila University.

    Aquino appointed Monsada last Tuesday as ad interim secretary of the Department of Energy (DOE) after the resignation of Jericho Petilla, who is also running for senator under the Liberal Party.

    Monsada is the personal choice of Petilla to replace him at the department. It is also aligned with the announcement he made when he resigned last April.

    The new Energy chief has spent long years of service at the department, mainly as director the Oil Industry Management Bureau prior to her appointment as undersecretary last year.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.