New manufacturers announced for 2016/2017 Formula E Season


The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) recently announced the names of the new constructors that will take part in the FIA Formula E Championship from the 2016/2017 season. The constructors selected for homologation are Dragon Racing and Jaguar.

In addition, some constructors currently taking part in the second season of Formula E have presented new homologation requests for drivetrains that they intend to use in 2016/17.

FIA President Jean Todt said, “We are pleased to welcome new constructors to the FIA Formula E Championship, It is particularly pleasing that a prestigious brand like Jaguar has chosen this championship for its official return to competition after a long absence. We created this series to offer constructors the opportunity to compete and to develop technologies that could be transferred to road-going electric cars.”

“It is encouraging to see the number of requests increasing all the time, and that the technological solutions proposed by constructors currently involved in the championship are quite different from one another. It’s an indication of the vitality and attractiveness of this series,” he added.

The fourth round of the second Formula E season takes place on February 6 at Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.