New playoff format for 20th season of women’s pro league


LOS ANGELES: The Women’s NBA is changing the playoff format for its upcoming 20th season, hoping to add excitement for a league that hasn’t grabbed the imagination of US sports fans as its creators had hoped. In 2016, the top eight teams in the 12-team league will make the playoffs, regardless of whether they are in the Eastern or Western Conference, a change from the current four teams from each. The change dovetails with a new regular-season schedule that includes more cross-conference games. In other changes to the playoff structure, the two seeds will receive a bye to the semi-final third round, while the third and fourth seeds receive a bye into the second round. Teams will be re-seeded after each round, with the first and second rounds both one-and-done single elimination games. The semifinals feature a best-of-five format, and the WNBA Finals remain a best-of-five series.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

1 Comment

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired!
    Extremely useful information specially the last section :)
    I take care of such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a very
    long time. Thanks and good luck.