New Sandiganbayan justice appointed


President Benigno Aquino 3rd has appointed a Regional Trial Court (RTC) judge as new associate justice of the anti-graft court Sandiganbayan.
Ma. Theresa Dolores Gomez-Estoesta will be replacing Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, who was appointed as Sandiganbayan presiding justice, Presidential Communications Secretary Herminio Coloma Jr. said in a statement.

The President signed Estoesta’s appointment papers last June 20, addressed to Supreme Court Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno.

Estoesta bested seven other nominees to the position including Makati RTC Judge Maryann Corpus-Manalac, Quezon City RTC Judge Bernelito Fernandez, Antipolo RTC Judge Ronaldo Martin, Makati RTC Judge Andres Soriano, Department of Justice Chief State Counsel Ricardo Paras 3rd, Justice Undersecretary Leah Armamento and Assistant Solicitor General Marissa Macaraig Guillen.

Prior to her appointment, Estoesta served as presiding judge in the Manila Metropolitan
Trial Court. She also served in the Solicitor General’s office from 1991 to 2002.

She graduated with a political science degree from De La Salle University and studied law at the Ateneo de Manila University.

The new magistrate is expected to complete the three-member Fifth Division, which is hearing the plunder and graft cases against Sen. Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.