Newcomer Hasmine Killip wins Cinemalaya Best Actress


    Hasmine Killip is one of the biggest winners in this year’s Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival not only because she won the coveted Best Actress Award for the movie Pamilya Ordinaryo but also because she has beaten strong contenders—the “Superstar” Nora Aunora (Tuos) and the “Drama Princess” Judy Ann Santos (Kusina), among others—in the same category.

    ‘Pamilya Ordinaryo’ is Cinemalaya 2016’s biggest winner with five major awards including Best Director for Eduardo Roy, Jr. (center) AWARDS NIGHT PHOTOS BY DJ DIOSINA

    ‘Pamilya Ordinaryo’ is Cinemalaya 2016’s biggest winner with five major awards including Best Director for Eduardo Roy, Jr. (center) AWARDS NIGHT PHOTOS BY DJ DIOSINA

    In the Eduardo Roy Jr. drama, Killip plays Jane, the 16-year-old mother of an infant who barely makes a living in the streets of Manila. To make ends meet, Jane and her equally young partner Aries—played by Ronwaldo Martin—labor as pickpockets. Things got worse for the couple when their precious newborn suddenly went missing.

    Cinemalaya cited Killip’s “brilliant, gritty and moving performance” as the main considerations for winning the award.

    The young actress—who is now based in the United Kingdom—was not present to receive her first-ever acting award personally but thanked their team, most especially her director Roy, through a prepared speech read during the Awards Night on Sunday at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and through her social media postings.

    Before Pamilya Ordinaryo, Killip was seen in the Carlo Francisco Manatad’s 2015 short film Junilyn Has.

    Awards for Pamilya Ordinaryo did not end in Killip’s win. The movie, in fact, became the night’s biggest winner, having bagged four other major awards including Best Film, Best Direction, Best Editing (for Carlos Francisco) and the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) Award for the full-length category.

    Cinemalaya applauded the movie’s “strong sense of realism” and its “mix of narrative and use of real CCTV footages to make it grittier and dramatically powerful.” NETPAC, on the other hand, said that Pamilya Ordinaryo won in their category for the movie’s “grim but engaging narrative about a non-ordinary family.”

    Other winners
    Similarly, veteran actor Tommy Abuel was one of the much-talked-about names of the evening for winning the Best Actor Award.

    Hasmine Killip in the movie ‘Pamila Ordinaryo’ PHOTO FROM CINEMALAYA

    Hasmine Killip in the movie ‘Pamila Ordinaryo’ PHOTO FROM CINEMALAYA

    As a man tormented by his past in Renato Magadia, Jr.’s Dagsin, Cinemalaya cited the 74-year-old’s “extraordinary performance that is the soul of the film.”

    “From the very first frame, till the last image, all we see is his soul’s torment,” Cinemalaya noted in a statement.

    For the Best Supporting Actor, the ensemble cast of Hiblang Abo consisting of Lou Veloso, Jun Urbano, Leo Rialp, Nanding Josef received the award while the Best Supporting Actress was shared between Lollie Mara for Ang Bagong Pamilya Ni Ponching and Elizabeth Oropesa for I America.

    Moreover, Jason Paul Laxamana’s Mercury is Mine won the Special Jury Prize and Best Screenplay awards, while Tuos by Roderick Cabrido won Best Cinematography (Mycko David), Best Production Design (Steff Dereja), Best Sound (Monoxide Works), Best Original Music Score (Jema Pamintuan), and Audience Choice for the “Full Feature” category.

    Tommy Abuel wins Best Actor Award for ‘Dagsin’

    Tommy Abuel wins Best Actor Award for ‘Dagsin’

    Finally, in the “Short Feature” category, the awards were dominated by Isabel Quesada’s Pektus—which won Best Film and Best Screenplay awards—and Ramon A.L. Garilao’s Fish Out of Water—which took home Special Jury Prize and Best Direction. In the same category, Jose Ibarra Guballa’s Ang Maangas, Ang Marikit At ang Makata won the NETPAC Award while the Audience Choice Award went to Forever Natin by Cyrus Valdez.

    The winners were determined by the Main Competition Jury, composed of Hubert Niogret, Philip Cheah, Jerrold Tarrog, Lav Diaz and Ma. Rosario “Charo” Santos-Concio. The members of the NETPAC Jury, on the other hand, included Yasu Tanaka, Axel Estein and Nestor Jardin.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.