Nilo, Cuasay cop two golds in PSL National Series


Mikhaela Bliss Dula

Promising tankers Arwen Sky Nilo and Johndy Cuasay delivered two gold medals each to lead the gold medal winners in the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) 120th National Series Motivational and Novice Swimming Championships on Sunday at the Diliman Preparatory School swimming pool in Quezon City.

Nilo topped the girls’ 6-under 25m butterfly in 28.29 seconds then cruised to her second gold medal by ruling the 25m backstroke in 27.25 seconds in the Novice division of the event supported by The Manila Times.

For his part, Cuasay dominated the boys’ 6-under 100m Individual Medley in 2:15.00 and the 50m butterfly event via a 1:08.28 showing in the Motivational class.

“It’s part of our grassroots developmental program. We motivate these kids, we train them locally before sending them abroad for exposure. Our Swimmers of the Year Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Marc Bryan Dula started as Novice swimmers. And we’re hoping to discover more young tankers like them,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Also shining on the opening day were Nuche Ibit, Ganelle Raymundo, Mariana Mendoza, Elise Pelayo, David Jandayan, Gabriel Rejano, John Villanueva, Luke Ayles, Ralph Rosario, Alexandra Hidalgo, Frances Crasco, Aliya Flores, Francisco Crasco II and Alan Isal who reigned supreme in their respective age bands.

Sharing the spotlight were fellow gold medalists Denise Baui, Alexan­dra Pedracio, Giacinta Balucating, Faith Necosia, Ava Paris, Sean Balles­teros, Christoffer Boletche, Lance Magno, Joshua Jordan, Feriz Espa­no, Lexx Valdez and Kyle Cornel.

“Our focus right now is to discover and develop new faces. We already have swimmers in elite class but we want to develop more talented swimmers for future international competitions,” added Papa.

The other gold medallists were Iammejen Lopez, Ashley Bacera, Chell­sie Ramirez, Hannah Ataza, Roany Tica, Larissa Aynera, Prince Edro­so, Rasheed Cortez, Max Rosa­rio, Rupert Nunez, Danilo Belen III, Anna Villa­nueva, Jamela Mano­can, Heleina Glorioso, Unah Villanueva, Iona Tu­mitit, Rafael Lapuz, Kaden Sy, Dadilus Dem­brano III, Sebastian Paguirigan, Ethan Sergio, Carlito La­puz, Jarell Fababier and Jasmine Omolon.

The PSL is recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission as the official swimming association in the country following its impressive grassroots development program that aims to train talented swimmers for future international competitions.

It is also accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines – an affiliate of the International University Sports Federation (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.