Nora Aunor is UP’s Gawad Plaridel awardee


The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication named singer-actress Nora Aunor as this year’s recipient of UP Gawad Plaridel.

The UP CMC said Aunor is being recognized for her “unique artistry and versatility as a singer” and for “portraying with keen intelligence and uncommon sensitivity an amazing range of cinematic roles.”

Some of Aunor’s prominent works in Philippine movies include Bona, Himala, Bakit May Kahapon Pa?, Naglalayag, Minsa’y isang Gamugamo, Fe, Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos; Annie Batungbakal and Thy Womb.

The Philippine cinema’s Superstar was also commended for producing “movies of notable quality” like “Banaue”, “Alkitrang Dugo”, “Atsay”, “Mga Uod at Rosas” and “Tisoy”.

Aside from singing, acting and producing films, Aunor also starred in memorable and long-running television programs like the Nora Aunor Show and Superstar which “showcased her skills in song and dance and set a trend in Philippine television.”

Aunor will receive the Gawad Plaridel trophy designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva during awarding ceremonies to be held at the UP Film Institute Film Center’s Cine Adarna on August 27.
The Gawad Plaridel, named after the nom de plume used by Filipino propagandist Marcelo H. del Pilar, is awarded to outstanding practitioners who have excelled in print, radio, film, and television.

Past awardees include Philippine Daily Inquirer founder Eugenia Apostol in 2004, actress Vilma Santos in 2005, radio broadcaster Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo in 2006, broadcast journalist Cheche Lazaro in 2007, Sun Star Editor-in-Chief Pachico Seares in 2008, independent filmmaker Kidlaw Tahimik in 2009, radio host and voice talent Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas in 2011, veteran actress Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda in 2012.

Last year’s recipient was multi-awarded journalist, writer and poet Jose “Pete” Lacaba.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.