• NU, UP secure Final Four seats


    Reigning champion National University (NU) and University of the Philippines (UP) secured the first two Final Four slots after winning over their respective men’s division foes on Sunday in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 79 badminton tournament.

    The Bulldogs blanked University of the East (UE), 5-0, while the Fighting Maroons carved out a 4-1 victory over Far Eastern University (FEU) at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

    NU and UP stretched their unbeaten runs to five, as the two teams, handled by brothers Jaime and Melvin Llanes, dispute the solo lead in the penultimate day of the eliminations on Wednesday.

    The winner will also move within a victory of claiming an outright spot in the best-of-three championship series.

    Ateneo de Manila University, meanwhile, nipped De La Salle University, 3-2, to improve its record at 3-2 in third place, while University of Santo Tomas blanked Adamson University, 5-0.

    “We’re very very happy with how the players played today. They’re all heart, all out today,” said Ateneo head coach Kennie Asuncion-Robles.

    “Well, we’re not thinking that we’re already on the third spot. It’s very very important that in the next two games, we finish with results. One game at a time, one game at a time,” she added.

    The Growling Tigers moved in a tie with the Tamaraws and the Green Archers from fourth to sixth spots at 2-3, while the Red Warriors and the Falcons fell at 1-4 and 0-5 slates, respectively.



    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.