Olivarez Cup stakes WTA Future Stars berths


The Olivarez Cup Open 2015 presented by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala gets going July 31 with the cream of the country’s junior tennis crop and a slew of rising stars expected to vie for top honors in various divisions at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat, Parañaque.

But focus will be on the girls’ Under 14 and U-16 categories where the winners will represent the country in the WTA Future Stars Tournament against some of the top juniors in Asia-Pacific on Oct. 20-27 at the Kallang Tennis Center in Singapore.

“The Philippine Tennis Association is designating the Olivarez-Palawan Pawnshop Open 2015 as the qualifying tournament for the WTA Future Stars. Getting that rare chance to compete against the best in the U-14 and U-16 should be enough motivation for our young players to strive hard and dish out their best shot,” said Philta president and Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez.

The WTA Future Stars is a series of community events featuring U-14 and U-16 tournaments produced in association with the Sport Singapore and Singapore Tennis Association featuring the top junior female talents in the Asia-Pacific region.

Registration is ongoing with deadline set on July 26. For details, contact 0915-4046464.

Headlining the Open rosters are PJ Tierro, Johnny Arcilla, Nino Alcantara, Elbert Anasta, Marc Reyes, Rolando Ruel Jr., Kyle Dandan and Alex Lazaro in the men’s side and Marian Jade Capadocia, sisters Clarice and Christine Patrimonio, Edilyn Balanga, Khim Iglupas, Maia Balce, Jzach Canja and Monica Therese Cruz in the ladies category.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.