‘Omnibus’ promotion for MMFF 2016 lineup


Jurors for final awards named
With the turnout of an almost all-independent film lineup for the 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival, the key word in promoting this year’s “Magic 8” is “omnibus.”

Compared to previous years when major production companies went all out in marketing gimmicks to compete at the box office come Christmas Day, the uncertainty of independent filmmakers on the public’s reception of their movies has required a united front for everyone including the MMFF Executive Committee.

At the final press conference cum Christmas party of festival organizers on December 15, MMFF press liaison officer Noel Ferrer said, “Sama-sama at tulong-tulong ang lahat para maging matagumpay ang Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino—kumbaga, omnibus po ito. Todo ang suporta ng MMFF Film Festival Execom na pinamamahalaan ni Chairman Tim Orbos at Executive Director na si Atty. Rochelle Ona para siguraduhing napapahalagahan at natutulungan ang lahat ng mga pelikulang kalahok sa MMFF 2016.”

He also acknowledged the assistance of the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) for mounting the “Countdown to the MMFF” mall show series, which has taken cast members from all eight entries to SM Sky Dome in Quezon City, SM Sta. Mesa, and finally at SM Bicutan on Saturday.

“After the mall shows, the public should now look forward to the traditional MMFF Parade, which will take place in cooperation with the Office of the Mayor and Cultural Affairs and Tourism Office of Manila City, under former president and now Mayor Joseph Estrada, of course,” Ferrer continued. “The parade will begin at the Luneta Grandstand and will make its way and end at Plaza Miranda on December 23.”

The culmination of the MMFF via the “Gabi ng Parangal” or the awards night has been set for December 29 at the Araneta Center’s Kia Theater in Cubao, Quezon City.

Finally, the execom also released the names of the MMFF jury for the awards namely, Paolo Bertolin of the Venice Film Festival; Philip Cheah of the Singapore Film Festival; actor Johnny Revilla, Mio Tiongson, COO of Ace Saatchi & Saatchi; director Antoinette Jadoane; Vince Reyes of Ad Foundation; Jesuit priest Tito Caluag; and multi-awarded actor John Lloyd Cruz.

The eight finalists competing at the 2016 MMFF are: Oro, Saving Sally, Sunday Beauty Queen, Seklusyon, Kabisera, Babae sa Septik Tank 2: Forever is Not Enough; Die Beautiful; and Vince & Kath & James.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.