• Ong, Flores rule PSC-Philta junior netfest Iloilo leg


    Ma. Dominique Ong and Luke Flores defeated their foes to win two titles each in the second leg of the 2013 Philippine Sports Commission-Philippine Lawn Tennis Association Junior Championship Iloilo leg Sunday at the La Paz tennis court in Iloilo City.

    Ong outlasted Mary Grace Zapanta in the girls’ 18-under finals, 6-0, 6-1. She outplayed the same opponent in the girls’ 16-under division championship round, 6-1, 6-2, to bag two titles in the competition.

    Flores trounced Mathew Crisosto in the boys’ 18-under category final round, 7-5, 6-4, and then took home the boys’ 16-under crown after outsmarting Crisosto again, 6-3, 1-6, 10-3, for his two crowns.

    In other championship results, Averille Sacapano ripped Steph Crisosto in the girls’ 14-under finals, 6-1, 6-0, to win the crown while Andrade Al Francis blasted Mark Crisosto in the boys’ 14-under championship, 6-3, 6-0, for the trophy.

    Sacapano also took home the girls’ 12-under title after beating Steph Crisosto again, 6-4, 6-0, and Felix Gabriel Martirez defeated Earl Mosquera in the boys’ 12-under championship round, 6-1, 6-2, to gain the crown.

    In the 10-under unisex finals, Althea Rose Martirez beat Raphael Seballos, 6-1, 6-1.

    Despite the heavy rains brought by Typhoon Yolanda, the junior tennis tournament’s Visayas second leg pushed through. The matches were played at the Metropolis indoor courts for two days before the tournament returned to La Paz tennis courts.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.