Ong, Manduriao seal PSC-Philta title duel


Ma. Dominique Ong carved out a 6-4, 6-2 victory over Isabella Mendoza to arrange a showdown with Erika Manduriao for the girls’ 18-under crown in the fourth Philippine Sports Commission (PSC)-Philta age group tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center on Thursday.

The top seeded Ong survived a tough first-set scare then imposed her will in the second to complete the straight set win while Man-duriao breezed through the finals with a walkover win over Nicole Amistad in the premier class of the event sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission and backed by Wilson Championship Extra Duty Balls.

Vincent Trillanes, meanwhile, stunned fourth ranked Emmanuel Vacalarez Jr., 6-4, 4-6 (10-7) to barge into the quarterfinal round of the boys’ 18-U class while top seeded Jake Martin blanked Javier Miguel De Jesus, 6-0, 6-0, to lead the Last 8 cast of the boys’ 14-U category.

Joining Martin in the quarters are No. 6 Joseph Raymond Anida, who whisked off Jerome Ignacio, 6-4, 6-0; and No. 3 Justin Suarez, who also smothered Vryan de Asis, 6-0, 6-0, in the Group I tournament held in honor of Philippine Sports commissioner Buddy Andrada.

Ignacio, meanwhile, advanced to the quarters of the 12-U class with a walkover win over Red Ante.

Third ranked Sebastian Lhuillier repulsed Bettina Catoto, 6-0, 7-6 (1), to clinch the first semis berth in the 10-unisex division while Jose Martin Dizon wore down Jude Hidalgo, 6-2, 1-6 (10-7), to reach the Last 8 stage against Jose Thomas Bernardo, who clipped Julia Ignacio, 6-2, 6-2.

Ong also cruised to the semifinals of the 16-U class with a 6-0, 6-0 romp over Mae Perez. The top seeded bet will next face No. 4 Frances Santiago, who subdued Catoto, 6-1, 6-2.

Manduriao also moved into the Final Four with a 6-0, 6-1 victory over Katrina Peñaflor to set a semis duel with Rafaella Villanueva, who won over No. 3 Nicole Amistad, 3-1 (ret.).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.